Mimir Chamber Music Festival Loading Image

Kalon Quartet

Kalon Quartet

Louise May - violin
Amy You - violin
Aidan Filshie - viola
Oscar Woinarski - cello

The Kalon Quartet is a classical music string quartet formed in 2017 at the University of Melbourne. The members include violinists Louise May and Amy You, violist Aidan Filshie, and cellist Oscar Woinarski.

Kalon’s energy and blend of sound is at the core of the group’s identity and continues to set them apart from other string quartets.

In 2017, the Kalon Quartet participated in the MIMIR Chamber Music Festival at the Melbourne Conservatorium of Music. Here, they received extensive coaching from internationally acclaimed artists, and were given the opportunity to perform as part of the MIMIR Emerging Artists Program. Kalon Quartet was invited to perform in Parliament House in Canberra (ACT) where they performed in front of high ranking government officials. Recently, the Quartet returned from Ulsan, South Korea, where they participated in a week-long intensive chamber music program amongst students from the University of Ulsan.