Mimir Chamber Music Festival Loading Image

Quartet Non Troppo

Quartet Non Troppo
Marrianne Liu, violin
Emma Martin, violin
Lucas Levin, viola
Joshua Dema, cello

Formed in early 2014 at the University of Melbourne Conservatorium of Music, Quartet Non Troppo is made up of violinists Marrianne Liu and Emma Martin, violist Lucas Levin and cellist Joshua Dema. They aim to present dynamic performances through their enthusiasm for the quartet repertoire.

Performance highlights include representing the University of Melbourne at the 2nd Annual Pacific Association of Music Schools Summit in Beijing and presenting pre-concert performances in conjunction with the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra and the Borodin Quartet.

The quartet has been successful in many chamber music competitions, including winning a place in the finals of Sydney Eisteddfod's "Musica Viva Chamber Music Award" with their rendition of the Debussy String Quartet and claiming first prize in Boroondara Eisteddfod's "Margaret & Murray Sharp Memorial Chamber Music Award".

They have received coaching and masterclasses from such notable artists as Curt Thompson, Alvin Wong, Zoe Knighton, Howard Penny, William Hennessy, Robin Wilson, Charles Castleman, Brant Taylor and Nathan Cole.